Student Life and Clubs

Get Involved!

Enjoy the full college experience by taking advantage of the many student life events and opportunities throughout the academic year. Both campuses offer a wide array of activities including social gatherings, movies, speakers and more.

Click on your campus to see more events and register!

QC Campus Events

QC Student Life Calendar

Full Events Calendar

East Campus Events

East Campus Student Life Calendar

Full Events Calendar

Clubs and Organizations

students grouped around a yellow TRiO Student Support Services banner

Participating in clubs and organizations is a great way to enhance your life, enrich your academic experience and meet new friends! Take part in every opportunity that will fit into your schedule, interact through online social media avenues, and make your college experience memorable.

Each campus has a variety of clubs to match your interests as well as a Student Government Association.

QC Campus Clubs

Art Collective
All BHC students with an interest in the visual arts are welcome to join. Past events have included visits to Hot Glass and the Figge Art Museum and activities like a mural projects.
Advisor:
Zaiga Thorson • 309-796-5469 • thorsonz@bhc.edu


Association of Latin American Students (ALAS)
The mission of the Association of Latin American Students (ALAS) is to educate and empower students interested in the Hispanic/Latino culture by providing support and educational opportunities.
Advisor:
Gabriella Hurtado • 309-796-5341 • ghurtado@bhc.edu


English as a Second Language (ESL) Mentors & Mentees Program
The Mentors & Mentees Program is organized to help international/ESL students adjust to cultural and academic differences with the help of the BHC mentors. This relationship allows international/ESL students to engage in educational opportunities outside of the campus.

Advisor:
Loredana Cooper • 309-796-5140 • cooperl@bhc.edu | Become a mentor or mentee!


Writers Guild
Come join us and share your poems/short stories with us! Our safe environment provides writers the comfort of sharing any work they want!
Advisor:
Andrew Hoogheem • 309-796-5417 • hoogheema@bhc.edu


BITS – Black Hawk College IT Society
BITS is the computer club for students interested in computer programming, networking, computer support and web development.
Advisor:
Jamie Hill • 309-796-5284 • hillj@bhc.edu


Clean Sphere
Clean Sphere promotes environmental appreciation, awareness and stewardship among the students, faculty, staff and alumni of Black Hawk College. Members have the opportunity to organize and participate in a variety of environmental efforts.

Advisor:
Marilynn Bartels • 309-796-5235 • bartelsm@bhc.edu


Math Club
Math Club is a student-led club which promotes mathematics through activities and volunteerism. The club is open to members of all mathematical ability levels.
Advisor:
David Miller • 309-796-5377 • millerd@bhc.edu
Jacob Winters • 309-796-5375 • wintersj@bhc.edu


Student Veterans of America
The BHC Student Veterans of America club supports veterans, active duty, Reserve, Guard and retired military members and their families. The club provides advocacy, support, referrals and awareness.

National organization: Student Veterans of America
Advisor:
Thomas Reagan • 309-796-5501 • reagant@bhc.edu


Student Government Association
The student is provided leadership opportunities at BHC and represents the needs of students. Must have a 2.5 GPA from first semester.
Advisor:
Jana Koch • 309-796-5177 • kochj@bhc.edu

 


Alpha Beta Gamma Honor Society
Alpha Beta Gamma is a national honor society for students enrolled in business and professional curricula. To be eligible, a student must be enrolled and have completed 12 credit hours, with a minimum 3.0 or equivalent GPA.
Advisor:
Ewelina Bergert • 309-796-5268 • bergerte@bhc.edu


Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society – Eta Kappa chapter
Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society for community colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges.  Students are eligible after completing a minimum of 12 credit hours of college-level work with a 3.5 GPA or higher. Once students accept, they must maintain a 3.0 GPA to remain in good standing.
Advisor:
Nicole Banks • 309-796-5422 • banksn@bhc.edu


Psi Beta – Psychology honor society
Psi Beta is a national honor society for community college students interested in psychology. Students must achieve a GPA of at least 3.0 based on completing a minimum of 12 college-level credit hours, and earned an A or a B in Psychology 101. There is a one-time, lifetime registration fee of $55.
Advisor:
Dr. Brigette Dorrance • 309-796-5414 • dorranceb@bhc.edu


Sigma Kappa Delta – English honor society for two-year colleges
Sigma Kappa Delta is the English honor society for two-year colleges. Students need to have at least a 3.0 GPA overall with at least 12 credit hours of college-level courses, and they must have A’s and B’s in all English courses.
Advisors:
Nicole Banks • 309-796-5422 • banksn@bhc.edu
Andrew Hoogheem • 309-796-5417 • hoogheema@bhc.edu

East Campus Clubs

Ag Competitive Teams
Black Hawk College East Campus also offers complementary opportunities for student engagement through intercollegiate judging teams and riding teams. Join a team »


Agribusiness Club
The mission of the Agribusiness Club is to develop and promote agriculture business events on campus, in the community and the county through events and tours and to provide education, experience and business network opportunities.
Advisors:
Andrew Larson • 309-854-1830 • larsonan@bhc.edu
Drew Cotton • 309-854-1842 • cottond@bhc.edu
Rebekah Irish • 309-854-1838 • irishr@bhc.edu


Auto/Ag Mechanics Club
The mission of the Auto/Ag Mech Club is to involve students in the automotive and agriculture mechanics industry, to connect and interact with other students who are interested in automotive and/or agriculture mechanics, and to establish long-term relationships.
Advisors:
Jason Grice • 309-854-1839 • gricej@bhc.edu
Gary Werkheiser • 309-854-1833 • werkheiserg@bhc.edu


Circle K International 
The goal of our organization is to develop college students into a global network of responsible citizens and leaders with a lifelong commitment to service., Circle K International (CKI) members learn the skills they need to become the next generation of community-minded leaders.
Advisor:
TBD


Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda, Inc. (FBLA-PBL)
The oldest and largest national organization for students preparing for careers in business leadership. FBLA-PBL prepares students for “real world” professional experiences.
FBLA-PBL Fact Sheet
FBLA-PBL Sign-up Form
Benefits of FBLA-PBL
Advisors:
Darcy Jeffries • 309-854-1822 • jeffriesd@bhc.edu


Illinois Farm Bureau Collegiate Farm Bureau Chapter
The purpose of Illinois Farm Bureau’s Collegiate Farm Bureau program is to embody the Farm Bureau’s mission of being a strong voice for agriculture by engaging students through opportunities in leadership, education, legislation and networking.
Advisor:
Rebekah Irish • 309-854-1838 • irishr@bhc.edu


Living in Faith Together (LIFT)
LIFT are believers in Christ from various backgrounds. LIFT warmly receives all believers in Christ and seeks to maintain the oneness of the Spirit by keeping our focus on Christ.  Through daily prayer, Bible reading, and Christian fellowship we are growing in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.
Advisors:
Jeanine Peterson • 309-854-1712 • petersonj@bhc.edu
Brian Beert • 309-854-1702 • beertb@bhc.edu


National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America - Student Chapter
The mission of NAVTA is advancing veterinary nursing and veterinary technology. Members plan activities that promote veterinary technology and give back to the community through volunteer efforts.
Advisors:
Janet Johnson • 309-854-1985 • johnsonjan@bhc.edu
Colleen Lewis • 309-854-1991 • lewisc@bhc.edu
Greg Jurgensen• 309-854-1992 • jurgenseng@bhc.edu


Phi Theta Kappa – Alpha Phi Beta Chapter
Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society for community colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges. Its purpose is to recognize students who have proven themselves academically. Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service.
Advisors:
Jodee Werkheiser • 309-854-1821 • werkheiserj@bhc.edu


Sci Pi Club
The Sci Pi Club spends time organizing fundraisers for club activities, providing community-related services both on-campus and off-campus, and takes part in organized, student engagement functions alongside other BHC student clubs and organizations.
Advisors:
Alan Abbott • 309-854-1812 • abbotta@bhc.edu
Andrew Mansheim • 309-854-1810 • mansheima@bhc.edu
Isaac Stewart • 309-854-1832 • stewarti@bhc.edu


East Campus Student Government Association
SGA is the official elected representative governing unit for the students. (Election of officers is held in the spring semester. Freshman and sophomore representative elections are held in the fall semester. Petitions for offices are available two weeks before each election in the East Campus Advising Center.) Visit Student Government for more information about becoming an SGA campus leader.
Advisors:
Vashti Berry • 309-854-1711 • berryv@bhc.edu
Brian Beert • 309-854-1702 • beertb@bhc.edu


Student Ambassadors
Black Hawk College Student Ambassadors are student volunteers who represent the college in a variety of ways. They lead campus tours for parents, visitors and prospective students, give presentations, and they host alumni and dignitaries at school events and functions.
Advisor:
Kylee Myers • 309-854-1724 • myersk@bhc.edu


We=Them
The purpose of We=Them is to create a safe environment for all students of differing views, gender identities, sexual orientations, races, cultures and lifestyles to be able to freely express who they are. We=Them is open to the entire campus community, with no exclusivity.
Advisor:
Merriam Jolly • 309-796-5418 • jollym@bhc.edu

Student Government Association

QC Campus SGA East Campus SGA

Head & shoulders shot of Dillon Sheiss with American flag in background

Student Trustee: Black Hawk College is directly governed by a seven-member Board of Trustees, all of whom are elected from within the district for six-year terms. A student representative, elected in alternating years for a one-year term from each of the two campuses, is a non-voting member of the board. The officers of the board are chairman, vice chairman and secretary, all of whom are elected by their peers for a two-year term.

Find out more about becoming a student trustee » 

Student Club Forms and Guidelines

Student Club Forms:
SLC Club Manual (PDF)
Student Event Registration Form

Club Budget Request Form