Ag Department honors nine outstanding students

The Black Hawk College Agriculture Department recently presented awards and scholarships to nine East Campus students.

“It is our tradition to recognize a few outstanding students based on their performance in the classroom and during co-curricular activities,” said Drew Cotton, co-chair of the BHC Ag Department.

“We are fortunate as teachers to interact with some of the finest students in the country, and we wish them many more successes in the future,” he said.

The student scholarship recipients are:

  • Brooke Kiefer of West Bend, WI – Susan Shipp Memorial Scholarship
  • Jebadiah Schwager of Bellevue, IA – Rosemary Ward Memorial Scholarship
  • Dillon Sheiss of Larwill, IN – Cory Lowderman Freshman Challenge Scholarship
  • Cody Toth of North Liberty, IN – Elmer Hoge Memorial/Mid-Continent Scholarship

The student award recipients are:

  • Jamie Briggs of Seville, OH – Veterinary Technology Award
  • Ruth Buren of Macomb, IL – Sizzlin’ Student Award
  • Brooklyn Moore of Bellevue, IA – Denzer Memorial Award
  • Rachel Murphy of Elgin, IL – Sophomore Equestrian Science Award
  • Julian Ortiz of Plainfield, IL – Sophomore Horse Science Award