BHC student-athletes win academic awards for 2017-18

Braves Athletics logoBlack Hawk College student-athletes recently earned awards from the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) for their academic achievements in 2017-18.

All towns are in Illinois unless otherwise noted.

NJCAA All-Academic individual awards – Eleven student-athletes were honored for GPAs they earned during the 2017-18 school year.

NJCAA All-Academic First Team (4.0 GPA)

  • Madison Garchinski of Fairy Glen, Saskatchewan, Canada – 4.00 – softball
  • Madeline Smull of Bettendorf, IA – 4.00 – softball
  • Eric Spurgetis of Moline – 4.00 – golf

NJCAA All-Academic Second Team (3.80-3.99 GPA)

  • Abigail Young of Dunlap – 3.87 – softball
  • Lake Koenig of Durant, IA – 3.84 – golf

NJCAA All-Academic Third Team (3.60-3.79 GPA)

  • Leo Callison of Durant, IA – 3.78 – baseball
  • Anastasia Veloz of Colona – 3.75 – softball
  • Connor Carroll of Rock Island – 3.65 – golf
  • Rachel Jacobson of Elmwood – 3.62 – volleyball and basketball
  • Megan Olson of Coal Valley – 3.62 – volleyball
  • Theodore Papousek of New Lenox – 3.62 – baseball

NJCAA Team Academic Awards – Nominations include all grades (excluding remedial) for all players. Teams must earn a 3.0 GPA or higher to be eligible. This award is for the 2017-18 school year.

  • Softball – 3.61 GPA
  • Volleyball – 3.29 GPA

Carrie Calderon GPA Award – The BHC Athletic Department gives this award for the highest team grade point average for the semester. Women’s softball has won the award 26 of the last 30 semesters.

  • Spring 2018 – 3.57 GPA
  • Fall 2017 – 3.57 GPA

Arrowhead Academic All-Conference awards – GPA 3.0 or higher for 2017-18 school year.


  • Nicholas Acri of Bettendorf, IA
  • Leo Callison of Durant, IA
  • Nikolas Klebosits of St. Charles
  • Alec Capshaw of Davenport, IA
  • Colin Kramer of Lake Charles, LA
  • Christopher Liggett of Blue Springs, MO
  • Ryan Lorber of Davenport, IA
  • Shamus Murphy of Rock Island
  • Theodore Papousek of New Lenox
  • Spencer Peterson of Lee’s Summit, MO
  • Derek Schumann of Cypress Woods, TX

 Basketball (men’s)

  • Ryan Hartsock of Geneseo
  • Blake Maris of Crown Point, IN

Basketball (women’s)

  • Sidney Aude of Chadwick
  • Paige Finch of Moline
  • Hannah Libby of Oneida
  • Rachel Jacobson of Elmwood
  • Megan Schueneman of Rock Island


  • Connor Carroll of Rock Island
  • Lake Koenig of Durant, IA
  • Adam McNamara of Wilton, IA
  • Jeffrey Perez of Rock Island
  • Eric Spurgetis of Moline


  • Cierra Biswell of Rock Island
  • Alexus Coleman of Silvis
  • Madison Garchinski of Fairy Glen, Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Madeline Smull of Bettendorf, IA
  • Alexis Taylor of Rock Island
  • Jamison Turk of Brownsburg, IN
  • Anastasia Veloz of Colona
  • Taylor Workheiser of Silvis
  • Abigail Young of Dunlap


  • Lakin Brau of Annawan
  • Liliana Gallegos of East Moline
  • Megan Johnson of DeWitt, IA
  • Kayleigh Kruger of Geneseo
  • Hannah Libby of Oneida
  • Megan Olson of Coal Valley
  • Nicole Stoddard of Brimfield


The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.
Registration for Summer and Fall classes is now available.Register for Classes