Chavera inducted into NJCAA Region IV Hall of Fame

head & shoulders picture of coach Arnie ChaveraBlack Hawk College baseball coach Arnie Chavera was inducted into the NJCAA Region IV Hall of Fame at a Feb. 15, 2018, ceremony.

Chavera is in his 14th year as head coach of the Braves. His record of 426-243-1 makes him the all-time winningest Black Hawk College baseball coach. He notched his 400th win April 1, 2017.

A native of Texas, he graduated from Arlington Sam Houston High School in 1991 and played two years at Navarro Junior College in Corsicana, TX. After playing one year at Dallas Baptist University, Chavera signed with the Houston Astros and played in the minor leagues for five seasons as a catcher.

As a professional, he has a lifetime batting average of .286 highlighted by 61 homeruns and 77 doubles. In 2000, he earned a mid-season and post-season All-Star selection.

Before arriving at Black Hawk College, he was an assistant coach at St. Ambrose University (2002-04) and Assumption High School (2001-02).

Here are some of Coach Chavera’s accomplishments at Black Hawk College:

  • 10 Arrowhead Athletic Conference Championships
  • Nine NJCAA Region IV Sectional Championships
  • 114 Academic All-Conference winners
  • 18 NJCAA Academic All-Americans
  • Five NJCAA All-Americans
  • 2015 NJCAA Academic Team of the Year Award with 3.26 cumulative team GPA
  • Nationally ranked in six of the past seven years by the NJCAA and/or Collegiate Baseball News
  • Has placed 110 sophomores onto NCAA DI, DII, DIII, NAIA and Major League Baseball

“Black Hawk College is very proud of Coach Chavera’s accomplishments and what he has brought to our institution and our baseball program,” athletic director Gary Huber said. “He has been a great representative for our two-year college student-athletes.”

Arnie Chavera joins these Black Hawk College athletes and coaches in the NJCAA Region IV Hall of Fame:

  • Mary Davis – volleyball coach inducted in 2016
  • Dan Breedlove – wrestler inducted in 2008
  • Gene Henze – baseball coach inducted in 2008
  • Denton Smith – athletic director and wrestling coach inducted in 2008
  • Carrie Calderon – current softball coach inducted in 2007
  • Justin Norberg – East Campus track athlete inducted in 2005
  • Nelson Lay – basketball player, track and basketball coach, and athletic administrator inducted in 2004
  • Duane Chaney – golf coach inducted in 2001
The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.
Registration for Summer and Fall classes is now available.Register for Classes
+ +