BHC East Foundation honors scholarship donors, recipients

East Foundation scholarship recipients 2017-18The Black Hawk College East Foundation honored both those who gave and those who received at its annual scholarship banquet Oct. 3 at Lavender Crest Winery in Colona, Illinois.

Welcoming benefactors, scholarship recipients and their guests, college and foundation leadership, faculty and staff were Doug Parrott, vice chair of the Black Hawk College East Foundation Board of Directors; Liz Breedlove, executive director of the Black Hawk College East Foundation, Dr. Bettie Truitt, president of Black Hawk College; and Dr. Betsey Morthland, executive dean.

Janene Blodgett Lourdeau, professor emerita and benefactor of the Lyle & Marie Blodgett Memorial Scholarship, shared the many life lessons she learned from her parents, Lyle and Marie Blodgett.

“My parents expected my brother and me to continue our education and to learn as many hands-on skills as possible outside of the classroom,” she said.

“Black Hawk College has these goals as well by providing students with the educational resources to become lifelong learners, inside and outside the classroom,” Blodgett Lourdeau said.

Breedlove thanked all of the scholarship benefactors “for your belief in Black Hawk College East Campus and the worthy students you support.”

She also congratulated the 2017-18 scholarship recipients.

“It is our hope that you will always remember the kind assistance you have received from our benefactors, and when you are able, will eagerly pay this generosity forward,” Breedlove said.

A total of $100,516 was awarded to 69 students for 2017-18. The East Foundation maintains 91 scholarship funds with assets of more than $2.45 million. Since 2010, East Campus students have received $768,927 in scholarships from the foundation.

The mission of the Black Hawk College East Foundation is to serve as the primary support partner of the East Campus of Black Hawk College by providing for and conducting activities that facilitate the growth and development of the East Campus.

For individual photos of the Black Hawk College students who attended the banquet, visit Black Hawk College on Facebook.


The scholarship recipients by hometown are:
(All towns are in Illinois unless indicated otherwise.)

Annawan — Rylie Smith — Lyle and Marie Blodgett Memorial Scholarship

 Bainbridge, IN — Jessica Hays — Robin Moreland Memorial Equine Scholarship, William & Elizabeth Dolieslager Scholarship

Blanchard, MI — Morgan Carrick — Livestock Judging Scholarship

Blandinsville — Devon Boyer — Verlin & Joan Jackson Livestock Judging Scholarship

Brazil, IN — John Mace — Dean L. Bates Scholarship, Janssen-Ewoldsen Family Agriculture Scholarship


  • Emalee Brink– Eleanor Washburn Scholarship
  • Caleb Franck — Harriet McCarthy Scholarship
  • Jamie Franck — Amelia Wallen Henry County Fair Pageant
  • Alexander Owens — Demmler Business/Technology Scholarship
  • Ryley Rusk — Dave Lapan Memorial Scholarship
  • Hanna Thompson — GROWMARK Schlarship, Nancy & Wayne Hier Scholarship, Walter H. Schreck Scholarship

Canton — Mikayla Osborne — Holmquist Scholarship

Caracas, Venezuela — Ezequiel Bustamante Machado — Verlin & Joan Jackson Endowed Equine Scholarship

Casey — Allison Gossett — Dr. C. Scott Dickinson Scholarship


  • Kiovante Buckner — Brick Lundberg Scholarship
  • Melissa Smith — Black Hawk College Endowed Equine Scholarship

Chillicothe — Samantha Dixon — Dr. Glenn I. Luymes Veterinary Technology Scholarship

Eau Claire, MI — Caleb Peppel — Dr. Gene Gardner IMPACT Scholarship, Elmer Brose Scholarship

Eolia, MO — Katherine Koenig — Agri-Business Club Alumni Scholarship, Dale and Helen Swanson Scholarship

Fairbury — Grayson Cottrell — Susan Shipp Memorial Scholarship


  • Rachel Heck — Debbie Kitterman Memorial Scholarship
  • Hena Patel — Henry County Association of Independent Insurance Agents Scholarship


  • Adam Gradert — Cory Lowderman Memorial Scholarship, Cory Lowderman Scholarship (Freshman Challenge Award)
  • Samantha Mannon — Kandis Family Equine Scholarship

Gilson — Blake Hennenfent — Livestock Judging Scholarship

Great Meadows, NJ — Ryleigh Semanchik — Black Hawk East Foundation Scholarship, Cargill Equine Scholarship, Piper Scholarship

Hooppole — Hunter Matney — Walter H. Schreck Scholarship

Huntington, IN — Courtney Coffman — Agricultural Fund Scholarship, Colwell Scholarship

Iron Ridge, WI — Emily Schulz — Livestock Judging Scholarship


  • Sydney Baughman — Harriet McCarthy Scholarship, Jeff Owens Memorial Scholarship
  • Jacob Boswell — Kewanee Kiwanis Club Scholarship, Kewanee Rotary Club Scholarship
  • Kendra Clark — Frank Gerard Memorial Scholarship, John L. Haines, Jr. Memorial Scholarship
  • Ty Cruse — Barbara J. Curran Golby Memorial CNA Scholarship
  • Adam Dynes — Walter H. Schreck Scholarship
  • Justine Gallagher — David Bradbury Scholarship, Theodore and Penny Vlahos Scholarship
  • Ana Gonzalez — Darlene Collinson Endowed Scholarship, Dean W. Stoner Scholarship
  • John Lee — Black Hawk East Welding Scholarship, Dave Lapan Memorial Scholarship
  • Mikayla Puskar — Frank Gerard Memorial Scholarship, Otto Schwefel Scholarship
  • Delaney Smith — Walter H. Schreck Scholarship
  • Ashley Songer — Walter H. Schreck Scholarship
  • Yoninah Yisrael — Mehaffey Memorial Scholarship

Kirkland — Megan Exner — Dean L. Bates Scholarship

Knoxville — Alec Lester — Dean L. Bates Scholarship, Walter H. Schreck Scholarship

Laura — Haley Smith — EALgreen Scholarship

Melrose Park, IL — Fabiola Corral — Dale and Helen Swanson Scholarship

Miles, IA — Aaliyah Maze — Holmquist Scholarship

Mt. Pulaski — Kamryn Aylesworth — Black Hawk East General Scholarship, Ron & Teresa Brown Memorial Scholarship

Neponset — Natalie Balunis — Peterson-Martin Engineering Scholarship

Orion — Chelsea Vyncke — Walter H. Schreck Scholarship

Osco — Rachel Perry — Eleanor Washburn Scholarship

Oswego — Morgan Kaufmann — 25 for 25 Scholarship, Kandis Family Equine Scholarship

Palmyra, WI — Ryan Isaacsen — Holmquist Scholarship

Plymouth, IN — Lillian Bottorff — EALgreen Scholarship, Peoples National Bank Scholarship

Pocahontas, AR — Brittany Luttrell — Dan Hoge Livestock Judging Scholarship

Powell Butte, OR — Kinsey Ayres — Black Hawk East Alumni Club Scholarship, Robert H. & Bernice Eastman Memorial Scholarship

Princeville — Holly Goodman — Erickson Family Endowment Scholarship, Kewanee Area Business Women’s Scholarship

Serena — Griffin Tuftie — Cargill Equine Scholarship

Sugar Grove — Taylor Emigh — Peoples National Bank Endowed Equine Scholarship

Taylorville — Madison Taylor — Dean L. Bates Scholarship

Toulon — Kaley Rouse — Amelia Wallen Henry County World Festival Pageant, Bea Haines Endowed Scholarship, Black Hawk East Foundation Scholarship

Wheaton — Ally Hanna — Anderson Memorial Scholarship, Black Hawk East General Scholarship

Williamsfield — Curtis Howerton — Walter H. Schreck Scholarship

Williamsville — Kayla Humphres — Brick Lundberg Scholarship


  • Zachary Anderson — Amelia Wallen Memorial Scholarship
  • Bradley Bowman — George & Mary Lee Wilsey Endowed Skilled Trades Scholarship

Woodridge — Kellie Zaroslinski — Holmquist Scholarship


  • Makenzi Lantz — 25 for 25 Scholarship
  • Katie McCauley — Amelia Wallen Old Settler’s Association Pageant
  • Lucas Wisnefski — Livestock Judging Scholarship


The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.
Registration for Summer and Fall classes is now available.Register for Classes