BHC student-athletes win academic awards for 2016-17

Braves Athletics logoBlack Hawk College student-athletes recently earned awards from the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) for their academic achievements in 2016-17.

All towns are in Illinois unless otherwise noted.

NJCAA All-Academic individual awards – Thirteen student-athletes were honored for GPAs they earned during the 2016-17 school year. Previously the most BHC student-athletes honored in one year was 11.

NJCAA All-Academic First Team (4.0 GPA)

  • Dennis Bell of Davenport, IA – 4.0 (men’s golf)
  • Megan Groves of Port Byron – 4.0 (women’s volleyball)
  • Keil Huber of Bettendorf, IA – 4.0 (men’s golf)

 NJCAA All-Academic Second Team (3.80-3.99 GPA)

  • Madison Garchinski of Fairy Glen, Saskatchewan, Canada – 3.90 (women’s softball)
  • Lake Koenig of Davenport, IA – 3.90 (men’s golf)
  • Hannah Terrill of Durant – 3.87 (women’s volleyball)
  • Roger Wilson of Orland Park – 3.85 (men’s baseball)
  • Abby Young of Dunlap– 3.87 (women’s softball)

 NJCAA All-Academic Third Team (3.60-3.79 GPA)

  • Alec Capshaw of Davenport, IA– 3.60 (men’s baseball)
  • Larry Dixon of Rock Island – 3.61 (men’s basketball)
  • Shelby Thede of Davenport, IA – 3.62 (women’s softball)
  • Caylla Townsley of Davenport, IA – 3.71 (women’s softball)
  • Anastasia Veloz of Colona – 3.67 (women’s softball)

NJCAA Team Academic Awards – Nominations include all grades (excluding remedial) for all players. Teams must earn a 3.0 GPA or higher to be eligible. This award is for the 2016-17 school year.

  • Women’s softball – 3.34 GPA
  • Women’s volleyball –3.22 GPA
  • Men’s golf – 3.08 GPA

Carrie Calderon GPA Award – The BHC Athletic Department gives this award for the highest team grade point average for the semester. Women’s softball has won the award 24 of the last 28 semesters.

  • Spring 2017 – 3.46 GPA
  • Fall 2016 – 3.37 GPA

Arrowhead Academic All-Conference awards – GPA 3.0 or higher for 2016-17 school year.

Women’s volleyball

  • Lakin Brau of Annawan
  • Megan Groves of Port Byron
  • Kayleigh Kruger of Geneseo
  • Chloe Lasek of Moline
  • Hannah Terrill of Joy
  • Emily Tunis of Davenport, IA

Women’s volleyball and basketball

  • Hannah Libby of Oneida

Women’s softball

  • Taylor Altemeier of Bettendorf, IA
  • Madison Garchinski of Fairy Glen, Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Cassandra Osborne of Joliet
  • Shelby Thede of Davenport, IA
  • Caylla Townsley of Davenport, IA
  • Anastasia Veloz of East Moline
  • Abby Young of Dunlap

Women’s basketball

  • Mikaylin Bent of Oneida

Men’s golf

  • Dennis Bell of Davenport, IA
  • Keil Huber of Bettendorf, IA
  • Austin Jump of Geneseo
  • Lake Koenig of Durant, IA
  • Nathan Lauritzen of Geneseo

Men’s basketball

  • Larry Dixon of Rock Island
  • Tyler Houston of Knoxville

Men’s baseball

  • Pedro Alfanseco of Kansas City, MO
  • Nicholas Balandran of St. Pius, TX
  • Alec Capshaw of Davenport, IA
  • Matthew Cox of Bettendorf, IA
  • Harrison Jestel of Davenport, IA
  • Ryan Lorber of Davenport, IA
  • Payton McFate of Davenport, IA
  • Quest Mock of Westbrook, TX
  • Theodore Papousek of New Lenox
  • Derek Schumann of Cypress Woods, TX
  • Anthony Smith of Oak Ridge, TX
  • Roger Wilson of St. Laurence


The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.
Registration for Summer and Fall classes is now available.Register for Classes