

Professor emeritus Ken Maguire was inducted April 22, 2016, into the Black Hawk College East Foundation <u>Wall of Fame</u> in a ceremony at the college's East Campus south of Kewanee.



The <u>Wall of Fame</u> represents individuals and organizations that have made Black Hawk College East Campus the quality higher education institution it is today.

As one of six original East Campus faculty members hired in 1967, Maguire devoted 36 years as a professor of liberal arts and science, teaching U.S. government, sociology, anthropology and other history courses to thousands of students.

Students and faculty peers describe him as one of the best lecturers at the college. Maguire also served as chair of the Liberal Arts and Science Department for 13 years, interim dean of instruction, and chaired two North Central Association Accreditation studies.

He was a major influence on the athletic programs at the East Campus as co-coach of the first women's basketball team and founder of the Black Hawk East Booster Club in 1973. He also was co-founder and first president of the Arrowhead Athletic Conference.

Maguire is a longtime member of the Kewanee Elks Club and served as chairman of the Kewanee Human Relations Committee.

At the April 22, 2016, <u>Wall of Fame</u> induction ceremony, Maguire received tributes from professor emeritus Steve Sams who retired in 2003 with Maguire; BHC alumnus Brock Tumbleson of Schueneman & Tumbleson Funeral Home; BHC alumna RaeAnn Tucker, director of health promotion for the Henry & Stark County Health Departments; and Dr. Dennis Gerleman of Gerleman Chiropractic Clinic and president of the Illinois Elks



Association.

Through his dedication and leadership, Maguire was instrumental in the growth and development of the Black Hawk College East Campus. He and his wife Cathy have generously supported the college through the Black Hawk College East Foundation.

To honor Maguire for his outstanding career and contributions to higher education, the foundation established the Ken Maguire Liberal Arts & Sciences Scholarship. It will provide financial assistance to East Campus liberal arts and science transfer students for many years to come.

More than \$22,000 has been raised for the scholarship in cash and pledges, including a generous donation from Ken and Cathy Maguire.

As of May 3, 2016, scholarship donors include:

#### **Diamond Sponsor**

Anonymous

## **Gold Sponsor**

Carol Andris Dallas and Jan McCleery

## **Silver Sponsor**

Dan and Liz Breedlove Dan and Deanna Hoge Patty Varner

## **Bronze Sponsor**

Alan Abbot, Ph.D. Tim and Linda Black Janene Blodgett Lourdeau Milt & Mary Carlson & Sue Carlson Colgan Carla Hillman Curt Hulteen Nelson M. Lay Dallas and Jan McCleery Peoples National Bank of Kewanee Steve and Janice Sams



Union Federal Savings and Loan Mr. and Mrs. Spike Young

#### Sponsor

Carolyn & Lanny Anderson Eldon R. & Virginia E. Aupperle Dorothy & Byron Beck Mark and Sue Bowen David L. Bradbury Del & Meg Chance Chuck & Sharon Deahl Christy DeSmit Dave & Lori Emerick Bill and Loretta Fulton Dr. Dennis & Mrs. Jeanette Gerleman Mary Jo Gibson James & Alice Ann Golby Bill & Norma Good **Beatrice Haines** John Hartman Donna Irvin Mark Mikenas Tom and Jovone Miler Mary Miller Kalvin, Jeremy & Ryan Peart Betty Pillen Mr. and Mrs. Jerry A. Pyle David Sherrard Linda Simmons Toni E. Smith Steve & Sandy Spivey **Doris Strand Gary Taets Family** Dr. & Mrs. Charles Warthen John & Beverly Wohlrab

## The 2016 Wall of Fame Committee members are:

Janene Blodgett Lourdeau, co-chair



Betty Pillen, co-chair Alan Abbott, Ph.D. Lanny Anderson David Bradbury John Hartman Carla Hillman Dan Hoge Paula Luft Mary Miller Steve Sams Patty Varner

# Share this:

- <u>Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)</u>
- <u>Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)</u>
- <u>Click to email a link to a friend (Opens in new window)</u>
- <u>Click to print (Opens in new window)</u>
- <u>More</u>