15 students honored at Founders’ Scholars reception

Black Hawk College recently honored 15 East Campus students for their academic excellence at the 32nd Annual Founders’ Scholars Awards Reception.

The event is named after the East Campus founders – Dr. Glenn Case, James Golby, Gust Lundberg, Ted Vlahos and Robert White.

“This is the time of year when we recognize the outstanding achievements of our students,” said Dr. Betsey Morthland, executive dean. “At East Campus, these achievements constitute a very long list.

“We honor our top academic scholars at the East Campus with the Founders’ Scholars award. They are the crème de la crème,” Morthland said.

Students receiving the award must have a minimum 3.85 grade point average after 30 credit hours at Black Hawk College with 12 credit hours taken at the East Campus. Students also must be graduating this month with an Associate in Arts or Associate in Science degree.

The 2016 Founders’ Scholars are:

  • Matthew Endress – Galva
  • Kimberlee Ewart – Wapello, Iowa
  • Mary Fielding – Lynn Center
  • Elijah Hamilton – Wyoming
  • Patricia Hamilton – Wyoming
  • Rebecca Janes – Peotone
  • Jamie Kraklow – Manito
  • Brent Nelson – Altona
  • Lauren Peterson – Wyanet
  • Kalie Rumbold – Wyanet
  • Alexis Smith – Plano
  • Caleb Stahl – La Fayette
  • Hayden Swanson – Galva
  • Rachel VanDeVelde – Galva
  • Victoria West – Wyoming


Last updated 5/10/2016

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.
Registration for Summer and Fall classes is now available.Register for Classes