Honor society inducts 53 Black Hawk College students

Black Hawk College recently inducted 53 students into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society chapter at the college’s East Campus.

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of 12 hours of associate degree course work and have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Phi Theta Kappa holds business and membership meetings, sponsors speakers and holds events for the campus. Participation in the chapter enables members to take advantage of scholarships, plus participation in special activities.

Alpha Phi Beta, the East Campus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, was chartered in Spring 1992. In 2005, the chapter won the Pinnacle Award – a membership enhancement program that rewards both chapters and regions with scholarship stipends – in recognition of the local chapter’s success in recruitment of new members. The local chapter now has 235 members.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions.

More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

Inductees and their hometowns are listed below. All towns are in Illinois unless otherwise noted.

Phi Theta Kappa Inductees

Adel, Iowa – Rachel Hoy
Aledo – Kevin McCutchan
Altona – Brent Nelson
Annawan – Davette Malufka, Jennifer VanDeGenachte
Cambridge – Kevin Beuseling, Emily Brink, Isabella Frisk, Katie Miller
Cascade, Iowa – Lillie Beringer
Danville, Iowa – Jon Rubey
Davis Junction – Jennifer Bathje
Downs – Makayla Maciejewski
Elizabeth – Kelley Koester
Galva – Matthew Endress, Rachel VanDeVelde
Geneseo – Evan Blunk, Paige Charlet, Sheridan Saskowski
Kewanee – Karl Branom, Carols Bretado, Brigida Castillo, Joshua Denzer, Nicole Lee, Guadalupe Lopez, Jessica Manthe, Kathryn Thomson
LaFayette – Caleb Stahl
Laura – Joshua DeGroot
Lincoln – Kaitlyn Frizzell
Loami – Lakken Troxell
Lynn Center – Mary Fielding
Makinaw – Marli Schaley
Manito – Jamie Kraklow
Middlebury, Ind. – Brian Pluimer
Moline – Anna Smith, Shelley Wolfe, Sarah York
New Windsor – Rosemary Phillips
North Henderson – Mason Flack
Oxford, Mich. – Alexandra Logan
Rock Island – Patricia Parker
Sheffield – Emily Thurston
Toulon – Victoria Beaver, Brooke Eckstein, Corinna Wyant
Walcott, Iowa – Samantha Rathjen
Wapello, Iowa – Kimberlee Ewart
Wildwood, Ga. – John Reasor
Winamac, Ind. – Mackenzie Brandt
Wyanet – Kalie Rumbold
Wyoming – Patricia Hamilton, Victoria West

Last updated 5/28/2015