Black Hawk College Horse Judges Congress Champions

2014 Congress Champs

Pictured from left are: Coach Aaron Callahan, Makayla Maciejewski, Marissa Chapa, Breanna Grebin, Skylee Hemp, Mary Kandis, Heather Dufek, Amy Martin, Jamie Wall, Bella Frisk, Daniele Neisendorf, Riley Ryburn, Shelby Riley, Rachel Riddle and assistant coach Kindra Callahan.

The Black Hawk College Horse Judging Team members finished their first sophomore year contest with a 1st Overall win at the All-American Quarter Horse Congress in Columbus, Ohio. This makes the eighth time in 10 years Black Hawk College has placed 1st Overall at this prestigious contest.

Team A came home Congress Champions by placing 1st Overall, 1st in Halter, 1st in Reasons and 1st in Performance. Team B followed with a 2nd in Performance, 4th in Reasons and a 5th in Halter to earn a 4th Overall placing.

Congress Overall Individual rankings, BHC had six students place in the top 10 rankings:

  • Danielle Neisendorf of Genoa, Ill. – 1st Overall, 1st Reasons, 1st Performance, 2nd Halter
  • Jamie Wall of Pierceton, Ind. – 2nd Overall, 2nd Performance, 5th Reasons
  • Breanna Grebin of Rochester, Minn. – 3rd Overall, 3rd Performance, 3rd Reasons
  • Riley Ryburn of Earlville, Ill. – 5th Overall, 4th Halter, 8th Performance, 10th Reasons
  • Rachel Riddle of Stanford, Ill. – 7th Overall, 1st Halter, 2nd Reasons
  • Shelby Riley of Noblesville, Ind. – 10th Overall, 5th Performance, 7th Reasons
  • Marissa Chapa of Maple Park, Ill. – 4th Performance
  • Makayla Maciejewski of Downs, Ill. – 5th Halter

Rounding out the two teams were Heather Dufek of Platteville, Wis.; Bella Frisk of Atkinson, Ill.; Skylee Hemp of Milford, Ill.; and Mary Kandis of East Moline, Ill.

The sophomore horse judging team members will finish out their BHC judging careers mid-November at the American Quarter Horse World Show in Oklahoma City, Okla.

The Illinois Youth Team also gained the Congress Champion spot in their division. Two team members are Black Hawk College East Campus freshmen – Rebecca Janes of Peotone, Ill., who placed 1st Overall and Hana Murphy of Monroe City, Mo., who placed in the top 10 Overall.