Congratulations new East Campus Phi Theta Kappa members

Black Hawk College inducted 35 students into the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society chapter at the college’s East Campus April 28, 2013. The new members include Fall 2012 and Spring 2013 inductees.

Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society for community colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges.

Alpha Phi Beta, the East Campus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, was chartered in Spring 1992 and has grown to provide great opportunities to its members. In 2005, the chapter won the Pinnacle Award – a membership enhancement program that rewards both chapters and regions with scholarship stipends – in recognition of the local chapter’s success in recruitment of new members.

The local chapter now has 182 members. The induction ceremony was conducted by chapter officers. John Hartman, associate professor of art, welcomed and congratulated the new members.

Phi Theta Kappa’s mission is two-fold:

  1. Recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and;
  2. Provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming.

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of 12 hours of associate degree course work and have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Phi Theta Kappa holds business and membership meetings, sponsors speakers and holds events for the campus. Participation in the chapter enables members to take advantage of scholarships, plus participation in special activities.

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions.

More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Auburn, Ind. – Tracey Clifford
– Jonathan Hall
– Kevin Beuseling, Isabella Frisk, Matt Johnson
Camp Grove
– Taylor Endress
Door County, Wis.
– Crystal Drager
– Dustin Jaco, Kylie Martin, Taylor Morland, Devon Peterson, Megan Rose, Nicole Withrow
Glenwood, Ind.
– Anne Riggs
Jefferson, Wis.
– Carly Lukas
– Kyle Blair, Maria Guerrero, Melissa Hill, Jill Maglio, Dana Matuszyk, Hannah Pack, Kelsey Pence, Amy Rodak, Erica Verstraete
– Makaela Mason
Muscatine, Iowa
– Ashley Hansen
– August Block
New Windsor
– Maggie Adamson
Onslow, Iowa
– Carrie Somerville
Rock Falls
– Alexandra Johannsen
– Ivan Harvell
– Elizabeth Heaton
– Alexandra Strom, Seth Strom
Woodstock, Ohio
– Charles “Hank” LeVan