East Campus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducts 57 students

Black Hawk College East Campus recently inducted 57 students into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society chapter at East Campus. The new members include Fall 2011 and Spring 2012 inductees.

The local chapter now has 147 members. The induction ceremony was conducted by chapter officers. Chanda Dowell, vice president for East Campus, welcomed and congratulated the new members.

Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,280 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, numerous U.S. territorial possessions and multiple countries. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Phi Theta Kappa is recognized as the official honor society for community colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges.

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of 12 hours of associate degree course work and have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Phi Theta Kappa holds business and membership meetings, sponsors speakers and holds events for the campus. Participation in the chapter enables members to take advantage of scholarships, plus participation in special activities.

Alpha Phi Beta, the East Campus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, was chartered in Spring 1992 and has grown to provide great opportunities to its members. In 2005, the chapter won the Pinnacle Award, a membership enhancement program that rewards both chapters and regions with scholarship stipends, in recognition of the local chapter’s success in recruitment of new members.

Inductees and their hometowns are listed below. All towns are in Illinois unless otherwise noted.

Aledo – Kayla Hyett

Andover – Marilyn Brandt

Annawan – Kim Wilkins

Atkinson – Amanda Oldfield

Auburn, IN – Timothy Rinehold

Berwick – Jake Bloomberg

Bonfield – Lauren Wells

Buda – Nicole Balensiefen

Coal Valley – Laura DeBaillie, Julianne Hurley

Colon, MI – Tyler Pierson

Dunlap – Allison Weber

Galva – Gracy Heaton, Tyler Johnson, Morgan Nelson, Shaun Robinson, Karlee Rylander

Geneseo – Evan Blunk, Landon Heaton,

Horn Lake, MS – Brittney Morgan

Kewanee – Russell Anderson, Brigida Castillo, Travis Cruse, George Davenport, Erin Draminski, Nicole Early, Robin Field, Victoria Forbis, Robin Field, Mark Kuster, Nicholas Lempke, Amy Partridge, Hailey Plum, Emily Sharp, Matthew Stoner, Jacqueline Wyman

LaFayette – Joshua Stahl, Sarah Stahl

Lynn Center – Jonathan Swanson

Manlius – Sara Monson

Mineral – Kimberly Flint

Neponset — Cassidy Balensiefen

Oswego – Rebecca Brigel

Princeville – Jessica Reay

Quincy, MI – Jacob Sloan

Rock Island – Chelsea Neirynck, Doreen Skriver

Salem, VA – Sarah Schobert

Sheffield – Regina Petersen, Tyler Petersen

Shirley, IN – Breanna Lawyer

Silvis – Sharon Boyd

Stillman Valley – Brittany Hagemann

Toulon – Kathryn Kellstadt

Waterloo, IN – Amber Shipe

Wyoming – Bradley Fritz, Evan Streitmatter, Taylor Wilkinson, Jasmine Wyant