Founders’ Scholars honored at banquet

Black Hawk College East Campus recently honored 14 students at the 28th annual Founders’ Scholars banquet.

The banquet was April 27 at PL Damron’s in Kewanee. The event is named after the founders of East Campus – Dr. Glenn Case, James Golby, Gust Lundberg, Ted Vlahos and Robert White. Current members of the college’s Liberal Arts and Science Department presented the awards.

Students receiving the award for academic excellence must have a minimum 3.75 grade point average and have completed 30 hours of course work (through the fall semester) in anticipation of receiving an associate of arts or associate of science degree at commencement in May.

In addition to this year’s honorees, invited guests included Founders’ Scholars honored from 2008-2011. A large plaque listing all of the past honorees is located on the wall across from the Welcome Center at the East Campus.

Inductees and their hometowns are listed below. All towns are in Illinois unless otherwise noted.

The 2012 Founders’ Scholars are:
Nicole Donahue – Toulon; Nicole Early – Kewanee; Tyler Endress – Galva; Richard Feltner – Kewanee; Tyler Johnson – Galva; Chelsea Mille – Cambridge; Paige Milburn – Toulon; Matthew Morrison – Conewago Valley, N.Y.; Jenna Pence – Kewanee; Cole Rumbold – Wyoming; Sierra Sherrod – Kenosha, W.I.; Sarah Stahl – LaFayette; Tristan Troudt – Priest River, ID; Lauren Wells – Bonfield

Seated from left:
Nicole Early, Sierra Sherrod, Nicole Donahue and Jenna Pence

Standing from left:
Tristan Troudt, Tyler Johnson, Matthew Morrison, Cole Rumbold and Lauren Wells

Not present were:
Richard Feltner, Chelsea Mille, Paige Milburn and Sarah Stahl