View all »


Got kids who need something to do this summer?

Got kids who need something to do this summer? Black Hawk College offers a variety of youth camps and youth classes.

Are your kids entering 3rd-5th grades and interested in fashion, languages, science/math and art? Check out the four-day youth camps.

Would they like to create computer games or pottery or perform in plays? Check out these youth classes.

Do you have grandchildren ages 5-9? Spend time with them in the Grand Connection classes.

Summer Swim School classes for ages 4-15 are available during the day and evening. For more information, visit

Does your daughter play softball? Girls ages 8-14 can learn the fundamentals of softball June 22-25 at the Black Hawk College Softball Camp taught by award-winning BHC softball coach Carrie Calderon and her players.


robotics camp

BHC artists win awards in Student Art Exhibition

ArtSpace student winner Tamlyn Tinker 4-15Seven Black Hawk College students recently were honored for their artistic talent in the annual Student Art Exhibition.

The juried competition garnered 101 entries. Juror Terry Rathje selected 26 pieces for the show.

Tamlyn Tinker of East Moline (pictured) won first place with her stoneware sculpture, “Genesis.”

The other winners are:

  • Second place – Andrew Stallings of Rock Island, balsa foam sculpture, “Anamechanic”
  • Third place – Glen Williamson of Moline, pastel drawing, “Untitled”
  • Honorable mention –
    • Darby Hepner of Orion, oil painting, “Green Coat”
    • Pedro Carranza of Moline, marker drawing, “Dead Presidents #1″
    • Paul Lacefield of East Moline, floral foam sculpture, “Displacement”
    • Erin O’Neil of Alpha, Photoshop digital image, “Crystal Nymph”

The exhibit is on display through Friday, May 15 in the ArtSpace Gallery on the first floor of Building 4 at the Quad-Cities Campus, 6600 34th Ave., Moline.

For more information about exhibits in the ArtSpace Gallery, contact Zaiga Thorson at or 309-796-5469.

Enjoy free concerts by BHC music students in May

musical notesEnjoy a variety of musical performances by Black Hawk College students in May.

All events are open to the public. Admission is free.

BHC Piano Recital – Monday, May 4 at 7:30 p.m. at Butterworth Center, 1105 8th St., Moline

BHC Spring Choral Concert – Thursday, May 7 at 7:30 p.m. 1st Congregational Church, 2201 7th Ave., Moline

BHC Vocal Recital Monday, May 11 at 7:30 p.m. at the Deere-Wiman House, 811 11th Ave., Moline

BHC Community String Orchestra Concert – Monday, May 11 at 7:30 p.m. at Butterworth Center, 1105 8th St., Moline

BHC Community Band Concert – Tuesday, May 12 at 7:30 p.m. at the Quad-Cities Campus, 6600 34th Ave., Moline, Building 4, second floor, Hawk’s Nest

For more information, contact Dr. Edgar Crockett at 309-796-5479 or

Professional, continuing ed summer class schedule online

Black Hawk College Professional and Continuing Education (PaCE) provides classes and programs in community education, short-term careers, workforce development and online classes.

The May-August 2015 PaCE schedule is online at Summer offerings include youth camps, arts and crafts, computers, health and wellness, health careers, music and professional development for teachers.

For more information, call 309-796-8223 or visit PaCE at the BHC Outreach Center, 301 Avenue of the Cities, East Moline.

10-15 year olds invited to May 4 Noche de Ciencias (Science Night)

Students ages 10-15 are invited to the Noche de Ciencias – Science Night from 5:30-8:30 p.m. Monday, May 4 at the Quad-Cities Campus.

Learn & Earn Careers

Health Careers

NFPT Fitness Nutrition Specialist Certification

personal trainer logoInstructor: T. Hass
Prerequisite: Age 18 and GED or high school diploma.
Gain insight regarding energy provision from the time foods enter into the digestive process to when they are delivered to body cells, and how this all relates to fitness and athletics. Learn about digestion and internal chemical processes, energy provision and conversion, nutrient requirements, and the basic synergy that ties eating and fitness together. NFPT Certification is granted upon passing the final exam which will be administered on June 24.
5 Wednesdays    May 27 – June 24          6 – 8 p.m.
CRN 50418         Outreach – Rm. 407     Tuition Fee $242

Professional Development for the Medical Field

Instructor: L. Lee
Prerequisite: Age 18 and GED or high school diploma.
Prepare for the medical field as you learn medical law and ethics and HIPAA regulations. Acquire communication and critical-thinking skills that will allow you to approach your job search with confidence. Display your accomplishments to a potential employer as well as dress for success. Prepare to answer behavior-based questions, and learn how to conduct yourself before, during and after the interview. A professional résumé with these newly acquired skills will make the interview a positive experience. HR professionals will be able to deliver feedback during a mock interview session and give you a feel for what is expected of you to become successful in a medical career.
7 Fridays             May 29 – July 10             9:00 – 11:00 a.m.
CRN 50419       Outreach – Rm. 204        Tuition Fee $125
(No class July 3)

April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month

Monthly safety tip from your Black Hawk College Safety Committee

Are you one of the 80 out of 100 people that believe you are driving safer while being hands-free with your cell phone? The National Safety Council recently indicated that “80 percent of American drivers believe hands-free devices are safer than using a handheld phone.”

Driving hands-free is not safer. In fact, our brains still remain distracted if we are talking. If you are driving and talking on your cell phone you can miss seeing up to half of what is around you including traffic lights, stop signs, pedestrians, other drivers and motorcyclists. That is not good.

If you haven’t already noticed, there are a lot more motorcyclists on the road. It’s time to start thinking motorcycle safety, even if you don’t own or drive a motorcycle. Police reports indicate the majority of motorcycle versus automobile accidents occurs in intersections when a car turns in front of a biker. Look twice before making a left turn to be sure traffic is clear. Look specifically for motorcycles as vehicles turning in front of motorcycles are the number one cause of fatal accidents for motorcycle riders.

No accident is a good accident. Start today and become more aware of your surroundings when driving.  Take the Focused Driver Challenge and pledge to drive cell-free and please, look twice and save a life!


Disclaimer: These tips have been provided as general information for increasing safety awareness and for informational purposes only. Black Hawk College does not accept any liability for the information or advice (or the use of such information or advice) that is provided. We make every effort to insure the integrity and validity of the data provided. Always, check with your care provider before making any changes.